I’m 40 now…and I am a Princess

time for change, yes.. definitely ready for change..

As soon as i turned 39… it was automatic, i wanted to make changed before 40 and at 40 and after.

The name change – ready to do this, drop the last name, thats nothing to do with me, and never really felt wonderful anyways… was a process and automatic, but never one i loved .. its going to go. Im going back to Princess, yes, Kaur means Princess. and though i don’t think of myself as a “pretty dainty flowy .. looking for a prince type of Princess, i am a Princess as far as the Sikh context goes. Because I am a Sikh woman.

The 10th Guru, Guru Gobind Singh requested all Sikh Females use the name Kaur as apart of their name and even as a last name.

Having a “universal” last name was a method to avoid caste discrimination among Sikhs, as in those days people knew a lot about you including your caste based on your last name.

I know now, (better late than never) that it was a British rule, British influence and norm for women to take on their husbands last name, and hence this became the norm in India. NOW though, I realize i do not want to follow that traditional British rule, I am going back to my Guru’s request and to Sikhism and timeless and going back to Kaur, and name that reflects equality, love , strength and my identity.

Leave a comment